We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
supported by
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £5 GBP  or more




Music from Sky Orchestra 2020: A Moment in Time.

Sky Orchestra was first staged in 2003 by artist Luke Jerram and composer Dan Jones when it launched over Bristol and subsequently in Birmingham for the Fierce Festival. Making front page headlines wherever it has flown, it has toured all over the world including, a version for the Royal Shakespeare Company celebrating A Midsummer Nights’ Dream, over Switzerland and Canada as part of the Stratford Festival, and in 2007 it opened the Sydney Festival.

This version, commissioned by Bristol Old Vic, is an attempt to create an artwork that can be experienced by as many people as possible during the Covid-19 crisis while theatres and other venues have been closed and are struggling to survive.

Sky Orchestra is delighted to welcomes some of Bristol’s foremost musicians, and our city poet Vanessa Kisuule, to join us in creating this piece, working alongside some of Bristol’s rising stars.

For many years Bristol has been a launchpad for some of the world’s most successful musicians. This event, in part, forms a way of saying thank you to our inspiring city and its people, offering a message of hope, and not least, to create some much needed funding for the next generation of composers and musicians who face a challenge for survival right now.

We’re charging £5.00 for this 27 minute collection of pieces, mixed down from the seven separate streams of music from each balloon. But if you feel like contributing more then we would be very grateful indeed.

100% of the sales of this EP will go to charity to help musicians in Bristol. We offer this as a lasting memory of the day when music fell gently from the sky over Bristol.


released September 1, 2020

Joanna Bacon - guitar

Lee Cole - spoken voice

Jerome Gamble - guitar

Joe Harding - guitar

Guy Hughes - spoken voice

Stew Jackson - instrumentalist, composer

Nico and Maya Jerram - spoken voices

Luke Jerram - co-creator sky orchestra

Dan Jones - co-creator sky orchestra, composer, musical director

Vanessa Kisuule - poet, spoken voice

Grant Marshall - producer

Drew Morgan - cello

Thomas Nosek - vocals

Fames Orchestra - string recordings

Elizabeth Purnell - composer

Adrian Utley - composer, guitarist

Simon Birch - album coordinator and artwork


all rights reserved